MegaSleepy

I had decided to try a different subject this time; something other than mommy-issues. However, I am quite sleep-deprived, as of late, and cannot think clearly enough to form an intelligent thought.  For this reason, I’m going to focus on the cause of my sleeplessness.  Her name is Sophia.

Sophia is my third child. Having already mothered 2 babies (now, 10 and 7 1/2), I was convinced myself that babyhood would be a breeze. Been there, done that. Apparently, time had altered my memory. I’m sure, when I think about it, that I had a tough time with Jeana and Paige, both, when they were babes. Jeana, just because she was my first and I was trying to figure it all out, and Paige was simply challenging (and still is). I especially recall nighttime being an issue with Paige; I spent many nights, desperately trying to get her back to sleep.

When Sophie was born, I was prepared for sleepless nights with diaper changes and nursing sessions. This was how both my previous babies slept at that age. Well, SURPRISE! She slept for hours on end, while I sat, watching her; expecting her to wake at any moment. I even began getting up to pump at night, because I was about to overflow; what a great opportunity to build up a milk supply. This was AMAZING to me! I thought such things were the stuff of fairy tales! Not only did she sleep well at night, but she rarely cried, she napped well, and nursed like a champ. I thought it was wonderful that I finally got one of those “easy babies” you hear rumors about. I was careful not to brag to my friends, who also were having new babies. I didn’t want to gloat.  I should have, while I had the chance.

Sophie, sleeping in Momma’s bed, as a newborn

Somewhere around 5 months (0r maybe earlier) when she was really being to learn to move and explore, her sleeping habits began to change. Now sleeping in her crib, down the hall, she began waking several times a night, playing but demanding to be fed. Thinking this was a passing phase, we just continued as usual, though I soon stopped the nightly pumping; I couldn’t force myself to get out of bed another time. Since then, however, she seems to just go from one sleep distraction to another. Practicing a new skill, teething, belly pain, colds, teething, separation anxiety, teething (did I mention teething?); always a reason for her to be awake. Sometimes, she’ll go back to sleep being rocked by my husband, George, or even on her own (though, this is a rarity). Usually, she prefers to be nursed back to sleep.

Waking in Momma’s bed

I can’t really blame her for preferring this method; this is how I put her down for naps, too. It, generally works like a charm. I had noticed, even as a newborn, that she tended to fall asleep while nursing, so I began using that to my advantage at nap and bedtime. It works well, most of the time, but she needs me – and only me – too much at night. Is the solution to stop nursing her to sleep? Perhaps, but when I nurse her at other times, she only feeds for about 5 minutes, while, if it’s sleepy-time, she’ll feed for 15-25 minutes. I want to breastfeed her the best I can, so I’ll probably continue . . .

Another sleep issue for Sophia is her inconsistent naps. I just can’t figure her out, here. One day she’ll nap from 9:30 am – 11:30 am, but the next day she’ll want to sleep at 8:30am, and only for 20 minutes. Some days she takes 3 naps, yet other days, just 1. One problem is that she wakes in the morning at different times, anywhere from 5 am – 8 am. That makes it difficult to decide when to even start naps. Now, I work best with consistency and structure. Apparently, Sophie is the opposite. This makes Mommy very frustrated. Especially, when she and I both are sleep-deprived from the night before.

Climbing through her daily obstacle course.

Fortunately for us both, the lack of sleep doesn’t seem to bother her. She is a happy, active, social little thing. She’s always on the go, and rarely gets fussy. I, on the other hand, do not always fare as well. Many days, I am a mess – inside and out. Exhausted, frustrated, and confused pretty well sums up my days. Luckily, Sophie is a joy and, besides getting into things, is very well-behaved. In any case, if she continues constantly waking at night after she cuts this tooth she’s getting, I’m going to have to go back to the drawing board. I’m beginning to understand, however, that in order to ever find bliss with this baby, I’m going to have to ditch the drawing board, all together, and learn to go with the flow. Maybe then I can get some sleep!

Leave a Reply

